The principles of governance are the same in academies as in maintained schools, but the governing body has greater autonomy.

Academies are required to have at least two parent governors.

The governing body at Fishponds Church of England Academy is called the Local Board.  

The Local Board reports directly to a Multi Academy Trust, which is called the Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust (DBAT) with the chair and Principal sitting on DBAT with the chairs and Principals of any other schools who are also part of the Trust.

DBAT is a sub committee of the main sponsor of the school, the Diocese of Bristol Academy Company (DoBAC).


Diocese of Bristol Academy Company 



Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust



Other Academy Trusts

(none at present)

Local Board:

Fishponds Church of England Academy

  •       Five Members appointed by the Diocese
  • Four Members appointed by the school including the Principal, two parent Members and one staff Member

Local Boards of other Academies:

Christian Malford CE Primary

Easton CE Primary

Tadpole Farm CE Academy

St Peter's CE Primary



Our local board members:

Trish Dodds (Chair) - Foundation Member

Lizzie Kesteven (Vice Chair) - Foundation Member

Becky Taylor - Foundation Member

Elaine Jones - Foundation Member

Katie Leaver - Foundation Member

Claudette Campbell - Foundation Member

Andrew Ballie- Community Member/ GDPR Governor

Emily Fitzgerald - Staff Member

Helen Clew - Parent Member

Samina   Baig   - Parent Member

Debbie Coker - Principal

Emily Westacott - Clerk

Helen Godfrey - Associate Member (Academy Business Manager): no voting rights

Sam Culver - Associate Member (Vice Principal): no voting rights


    Click here for Register of Interests:   Local Board Register of Interests